Reviews

First Publicity

When we planned and constructed Villa Campuhan,  it was conceived as a private residence, a retreat for friends and family. It still is, as we consider our guests part of our family. The first time our home was covered was none other than Architectural Digest, an article we’ve included below.

Living Green Among the Blue

– Architectural Digest,  April 2013

Rob Cohen, director of action-adventure movies (The Fast and the FuriousDragonheart) and an avid surfer, was soon to start shooting a film in Australia when he and his future wife, Barbara, decided to go to Bali for a holiday. There he contacted environmentalist and eco-designer Emerald Starr, who showed him a villa that was available on the Indian Ocean with “a surf break right out front.” He promptly acquired the East Bali property, which also had a river running through it […].

From their commodious tented bed in the master bedroom pavilion, Rob and Barbara Cohen can see the ocean, while in their sitting area they look at both the sacred Mount Agung and the Seraya mountain range. The walls are woven inky blue-black bamboo. On one plaited wall is a collection of Balinese masks Cohen purchased from the French anthropologist. Some of the bedroom doors are antique carved panels from Batak houses, which have been converted to swinging saloon doors leading to the baths and dressing rooms… Read full article.

Guests Reviews

The Feedback Loop

To keep Villa Campuhan functioning at the very highest level, we depend on feedback from our guests. The owners, manager and staff try to anticipate every need and detail in advance but true perfection can only come if our guests let us know all that we do right… and more importantly, anything that we could do better.  In that spirit of partnership toward perfection, we invite all input, positive or negative.

Pure bliss in the best part of Bali

January 27, 2016

My husband I finished our honeymoon with 4 nights in Villa Selak. Our time there was pure magic. The grounds are beautiful, enhancing the natural elements but exuding luxury at the same time. The staff is attentive, helpful and kind. And the dinners are simply out of the this world. We went to bed every night stuffed and raving about the several dishes served. Make sure to visit Virgin Beach close by for a day trip. And for those seeking some exercise and views, hire a guide and do the temple trekking. Ketut at the villas arranges it all for us and everything was wonderful. Thank you Ketut! Thank you Barbara! We will be back.

A slice of paradise off the beaten Bali tourist track

– Glenvic from Sydney, July 2015

Villa Campuhan is well away from any tourist hustle & bustle: about a 20 minute drive from the eastern hub of Candi Dasa. This is a place where the world stops and leaves you at peace. It’s a magical existence where you live in 5 star luxury.

Sleep next to the pounding surf and immerse yourself in the luxurious infinity pool where the edge touches the ocean to a blue horizon. Ketut and his staff treat you like film stars. Komang and Ketut Suci cook the best food you’ll have in Bali and ensure you don’t need to go anywhere else. Tours can be done and organised by the villa but we found local tour operator, Gejor of Gotya Tours, provided an excellent service, including information-laden transfers. But why leave Villa Campuhan? Staying here is idyllic and perfect… Especially if relaxing at an amazing infinity pool is your ideal vacation.

Unfortunately, the beaches are being eroded by rising sea levels and snorkelling is not really an option with surf rolling over the narrow ‘house reef’ comprised of volcanic boulders. That said, the new sea wall being currently constructed will hopefully protect this little piece of paradise for years ahead.

We return to a piece of paradise

– Bill S from Sydney, July 2015

We were here at Villa Campuhan same time last year and couldn’t wait to return. We stayed 5 nights this time and it was just as wonderful this year as last. Ketut and all his staff made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. The surrounds, villas, food and service were just the best you could ever expect. I have been in the hospitality business for over 30 years and this is up there as one of the best places to stay. Out of the 5 villas we stayed in Villa Jasi which gets the best view of the sunrise over the ocean every morning.

Perfect Honeymoon

November 2014

The owner graciously upgrades us from a smaller Villa to the Villa called Agung. We arrived at night and at first we did not get a true impression of the location. The crew had prepared a late supper and greeted us in a very welcoming manner. The true impression came the morning thereafter. The pictures from the the webpage is not doing this place justice. It is simply astonishing. You are sleeping in close relation with nature and will hear the waves beating the shoreline a mere 75 meters away. You have a beautiful sea view, and a lovely view of the Agung Volcano from the other side of the Villa. You will not find better scenery from a toilet…

The food is mainly local and very good. The dinner is well worth the 260000 IDR we paid. We got a small starter with possibly the best salsa we have ever tasted. This was followed by several Balinese dishes and a new dessert every day. The lunch selections where also good. Massages where more expensive then what you can get on the street but not really expensive. 24 USD for 90 minutes Balinese massage is very cheap by my standards. Very decent massages. The crew led by manager Ketut was extremely friendly and forthcoming. They are very serviceminded, but not in the intrusive manner you would expect from other places. They will basically do everything to keep you happy but not step on your toes.

We spent our first 5 days at the Villa. A perfect start to our honeymoon. This is the place if you are looking for total relaxation or a calm get together with friends. We will definetely come back if we return to Bali.

Un posto magico

September 2014

Nel nostro recente viaggio a Bali abbiamo alloggiato a Villa Campuhan a Jasri,posto magico con sole 5 ville giavanesi e un’atmosfera tribale,ma curatissima. Alloggiavamo in Villa Agung con immense vetrate che vi fanno sentire completamente immersi nella natura circostante.La realta’ supera di gran lunga le aspettative:tutto e’ curato nei minimi particolari e raffinatissimo, ma rimane comunque autentico.Si mangia benissimo in una zona comune o direttamente nella villa a vostro piacere.La piscina a sfioro di fronte al mare fa da ciliegina sulla torta.Il personale e’ gentilissimo e discreto.Questo posto incantato vale il viaggio anche solo per una breve sosta

On our recent trip to Bali we stayed in a villa camphuan Jasri, magical place with only 5 villas Javanese and a ‘tribal atmosphere, but well-kept. We stayed at Villa Agung with huge windows that make you feel completely immersed in the natural surroundings. The reality far exceeds expectations: everything is accurate in every detail and refined, but it remains true. Eat well in a common area or directly into the villa at your leisure. The infinity pool facing the sea is the icing on the cake. The staff is friendly and discreet. This enchanting place is worth the trip also for a short stop.

An amazing holiday in an amazing place

– Bill & Duncun, August 2014

From the moment we arrive Ketut and his team had us sorted into our Villa and within an hour we felt like we had became part of a family. The crashing of the ocean and the warm ocean breeze is just so relaxing.We loved the food witch was server up with such great presentation but the flavours were what got us excited.To wake up each day to that amazing sunrise was just so special. Villa Campuhan we will be back next year.Thank you for everything.

Truly a piece of paradise

June 2014

We arrived in the pitch dark on a very small and deserted dirt road, with mixed feelings, and only the sound of the ocean. Great was the surprise the next morning just after sunrise. From your bed looking at the sea. We prove the only guests in a park with 5 amazing homes (max 16 people). What a great experience. We were looking for something exclusive and rustigs and exactly that is here at Villa Campuhan. Truly a piece of paradise. No TV or free wifi, no air con though sea breezes. No bugs. Go for people, restaurants and nightlife, then you’re wrong here. Great for a honeymoon. Modest and friendly staff, who have excellent care of us. And somehow they all called Ketut. In a subsequent holiday in Bali, we will definitely be back. Perfect start to a holiday in Bali.

A beautiful place

– Robert from Alpirsbach, April 2014

My wife and I got to spend 3 days as part of our honeymoon at Villa Campuhan. We especially enjoyed the peace and friendliness of the villa as well as the great food there. For couples and families who are seeking for hideaway from “everyday life” Villa Campuhan is a great place to go!

Out of this world!

Absolutely Amazing! Wonderful location.Friendly,welcoming staff. Very unique architecture and design. Gorgeous ocean views.I highly recommend Villa Campuhan. Exceeded our expectations in every aspect!

Magic Location

– Nico GP, January 2014

We stay in Villa Campuhan for a few days and I have to say that from the moment that we arrived the service was great and easy to deal with.Our villa (Villa Selak)was beautiful,surrounded by lotus flowers and a lot of nature.The view to the ocean was just amazing.The hole property is beautiful and charming.The location is just magic,however a bit difficult to find but this is a minor detail.The staff working was very nice and extremely helpful.

We dreamed a dream of Paradise

– Alana & Josh, December 2013

Villa Campuhan is a truly incredible paradise! My husband and I were the two luckiest people to have this dreamland for two weeks for our honeymoon! I really only thought places like this existed in my dreams! Beyond beautiful(views if both the black sand beach and the volcano). Great food – breakfast,lunch and dinner. The most relaxing massages – anytime you want them. Gorgeous and comfy villas. Balinese artwork – Tons of statues and masks!! Best of all, is that they have the most wonderful people working there!! They took the best care of us and always made sure we had anything we wanted. The manager, Ketut plans any activities you want to do (on any part of the island) and has you set up with the same driver for your entire stay… Even if it’s just to go to the white sand beach that’s ten minutes south of the villa. By the time we had to leave, we felt like we had become family with them. We can’t wait for our next trip here! We already miss our Villa Campuhan family!

Honeymoon escape in Real Bali

– Tina & Adam, November 2013

Loved this place! My (new)husband and I stayed here for 7 days and we were treated like royalty. It was incredible. We had breakfast on our patio every morning served to us at whatever time we wanted-whether it was 7am or noon. They arranged all of our “programs” such as climbing the tallest volcano in Bali. We had the entire resort to ourselves for most of our stay,so we literally felt like royalty. It was amazing. We were concerned about how far out it might be from thinks,but it was actually very close to everything we wanted. We rented motorbikes and traveled all around the area and saw the most incredible things. It was the real side of Bali. Seminyak is fun and touristy, Ubud is just touristy, This place and the location is relaxing and provides everything one could ask for. My favorite part is that they over delivered on what I expected to walk into-which is fantastic feeling.

It was everything we hoped for and more

October 2013

We truly had a wonderful stay at Villa Campuhan. Sometimes the expectation of a holiday is better than the holiday itself,but not in the case of Villa Campuhan. It was everything we hoped for and more.The location is wonderful, so peaceful but yet spectacular too. Always a cooling breeze. So nice to be away from the noise of the main tourist spots.We enjoyed visiting the local towns on our scooter like Amlapura and Amed.
What we liked the most about Campuhan, other than the above:

  • The food was amazing.We had lunch at Bali Asli and Alila Manggis, and we both agreed that the food at Campuhan was better. More flavour somehow?!And so much!The portions were so generous.We were happily stuffed every day. Ketut and the other lady chef(sorry,I forget her name) do an amazing job in the kitchen.Very good value too we thought.
  • The breakfast is worth mentioning,because it was one of our favourite parts of the day.Lots of delicious fresh fruit, perfectly cooked eggs and home cooked pancakes or muesli or rice porridge.All enjoyed on our terrace with the sea view and breeze.
  • The staff are very nice.So friendly and discreet. One of your staff also doubles as a great masseuse!
  • Ketut the manager was very helpful.He arranged everything for us very efficiently.
  • The yoga was very good.We both enjoyed our classes very much.
  • We both enjoyed our massages very much as well.It was nice up in the tower,with a lovely cooling breeze late in the afternoon.Perfect.
  • It’s worth saying that we thought the prices for the yoga and massage were very good too.Too often we pass on these activities because the prices charged are usually to high,and not worth it.
  • The property itself is very relaxing.The lovely wooden villas,gardens,pond and pool made it such a relaxing place to be.

We hardly left!And it was hard to go home. We will be back!

Amazing

October 2013

Just an amazing start to our Bali experience.Everyone took so much care and pride in their service to us. Ketut is on top of everything and couldn’t be more pleasant to deal with. The food was just excellent,exceeded our expectation. And the ground keepers were constant in they’r up keep of the property. We are so glad we found and chose Villa Campuhan.

Serene like Paradise

August 2013

Serene. Tranquil.Original. A beautiful setting,romantic as well as natural. To set back the mind and just enjoy mother nature and its beauty.An excellent staff understanding individual needs! Highly recommended!!

A truly unique experience

July 2013

The Villa Campuhan is a truly unique experience, far removed from the generic,luxury resort circuit, the Villa is something much more authentic and interesting. Upon arrival you realize that the lovely photos didn’t begin to capture the beauty and the scale of the architecture which is perfectly in harmony with the natural setting. Filled with a fascinating collection of artifacts,gorgeous fabrics and massive lounge worthy furnishings the accommodations are gorgeous!

Once you get past the beauty and the luxury of the place it is really the people of Villa Campuhan that make the experience such a pleasure. Everyone is welcoming and happy to meet you, by the end of our stay we were truly sad to part from our new Bali friends. The Villa is connected to Jasry Village,just outside the gates you can walk past the homes and business of the local people, we even ran into our driver Ketut who invited us for a drink. Walk a little further to the lovely Tirta Gangga Water Palace.
Each morning the sound of workers scaring birds from the rice paddies drifts through the windows and villagers wander past to fish or bathe in the river.Meals are also a pleasure. Overseen by managers/chef Penny the food is fresh,delicious and authentically  Balinese. A day spent with Penny exploring the local market,followed by a cooking class at her beautiful restaurant,Bali Asli, was a highlight,definitely recommended.  Exploring the island is easy, we enjoyed outings with the local driver who had met us at the airport. As well as negotiating the roads he acted as our tour guide so every trip we had a better picture of life in Bali.

Our family of four spend a wonderful twelve days staying in Villa Agung. We loved meeting the people and experiencing the culture of this authentic corner of Bali and hope to return!!

We absolutely loved it

July 2013

I stayed here with a student and my daughter for 5 night. This place is awesome (Villa Campuhan). If you want to see the real Bali and don’t mind minor adventure, this is your destination.This is a posh villa with six places to stay, We stayed in Villa Selak. This is a downstairs bedroom and a loft with an awesome outdoor (private)bath-shower.You wake up view is the reflecting pool/swimming pool backed by the Indian Ocean ( about 50 meters from your bed).

The place is in the jungle so you have to travel down an unpaved road but when you emerge from the jungle,you see something from paradise. The staff will do anything for you and can arrange just about anything on the island.Everyone speaks English well and the food is gourmet Balinese food. Villagers wander into the river to worship (Campuhan means where the fresh and the salt water meet). The white sand beach is about 15 minutes by Motorbike ( witch can be provided by the villa),all your meals can be arranged on site or on your front porch.It is about 2.5 hours from the airport and 2 hours or so to the tourist spots ( but ignore them). You can ride the motorbike to Candidasa if you need a tourist interlude.

Let the amazing staff wow you with plans,massages,yoga,whatever you want,or just sit on the porch and relax.Have the driver bring you from the airport.You won’t be sorry. Now, it’s a jungle so there are insects,toke (gekkos),bats and other awesome nature all over but you will enjoy it. All the local are friendly and helpful if you get lost or just want explore.

Let me put it  this way,if I was dying, this is where I would have them take me for my last week. We absolutely loved it.

Our own Paradise

June 2013

We came to bali for a wedding and our 10th anniversary. Between our time in Java and the wedding, we had 3 nights to find our own paradise, we found it here! Thank you to the incredible staff at Campuhan for making our stay one we won’t soon forget.Between the food,our lovely room,the massages,the pool,the crushing surf,the staff,the views,the feel of those floors under our feet…. did I already say the food? we don’t know when we’ll be back in Bali. But when we do, we’ll be coming to Villa Campuhan!! Thank you!!

A truly magical place

June 2013

Villa Campuhan was the most incredible place we have experienced in Bali.The location is superb-palm trees,a pool,the ocean,rice paddies and a view of Mt.Agung,it really does have everything! The joglo’s are works of art themselves and the attention to detail is outstanding.We loved the openness of the room and having the breeze freely flowing throughout. The staff were fantastic! so helpful,warm and kind and are a big part of creating the peaceful ambience that is Villa Campuhan.Would absolutely recommend Villa Campuhan to those happy to pay a little more and are looking for a peaceful gateway from hustle and bustle of touristy Bali.

A Hidden Gem

 May 2013

My husband and I spend 7 wonderful days at Villa Campuhan and were treated like the King and Queen. We stayed in the very cute Villa Lumbung and were fortunate to have the entire property to ourselves during our stay and the undivided attention of the 10 staff.

The trip from the airport to the property took about 2 hours….it is in the eastern part of Bali,away from “tourist behaving badly” and afforded us what we believe was a true Balinese experience. This property is stunningly beautiful,even more so that advertised. The pool area and communal dining/relaxing building are no exception and all buildings are an architectural marvel and so very pleasing on the eye.The surf break out front of the pool was brilliant but not safe for swimming ( strong currents). This was of no concern to us we enjoyed the ocean view from the pool.

Overall, a wonderful experience.  Barbara was a dream to deal with and we thank her sincerely for giving us the opportunity to share her unique property.

The dream come true

April 2013

Just what I needed. This is a luxury for authentic nature lovers. Every possible need was met and very attentive staff and managers. All I had to do was show up. I will only stay here when visiting Bali.

Luxurious and Relaxing Balinese experience

January 2013 

Villa Campuhan exceeded our expectations!It is situated in a lovely spot,next to the ocean and a river with sunrise views over Mt.Rinjani on Lombok. The architecture of the villas and main house is stunning. We had never seen anything like it. The property manager was exceedingly helpful ( she helped us set up several wonderful excursions) and the staff attentive and courteus, always with warm smiles. A highlight of Villa Campuhan was daily breakfast and dinner. Breakfast ranger from western to Balinese options and dinner always showcased fresh local food in delicious Balinese creations. We love relaxing in the oceanside infinity pool and then every night falling a sleep to the sound of the waves. We look forward to returning to Villa Campuhan!

Honeymoon Paradise

– PETER, November 2012

Where do I start in trying to explain the paradise that is Villa Campuhan? We were lucky enough to spend our honeymoon here,staying in Villa Agung for nearly two weeks. This is a location like no other! Don’t think of this as a typical 5 star hotel(those exist all over the world)-this is something quite different and in our opinion,far far better. It is like a luxurious tree house,on the beach,which comes with its own staff and manager who happily look after your every needs.

The picture do not do the place justice,it is even more remarkable and as a huge fan of interesting architecture,I found it to be a design treat.I realise they’re just bathrooms,but we couldn’t get over the two showers room,one of which is open to the ocean,the other with amazing views of the vulcano.Tropical bathing cant’be beat!! The food was delicious,and freshly prepared by the onsite chef. Every meal was a little bit different, but equally as delicious.We enjoyed days lazing by the pool,listening and watching the surf. And some days we spend going on treks and tours organised by the onsite manager.

At one point during our holiday we travelled to Ubud and stayed in one of the top rated hotels on Bali and to be honest, we were disappointed,and couldn’t wait to get back “home”. I couldn’t recommend Campuhan highly enough-the only downside was having to leave. If you are thinking of a villa holiday on bali, seriously, look no further.

The property is amazing

– JIOI, October 2012

Your Villas and the property is amazing!!  I have stayed in all 5 stars resort and I have to say I am not disappointed here. Staying in large luxury hotels was great but never authentic. I am sitting in the living room facing the ocean and feels so darn fortunate!
Your property made me smile because it is so charming yet still is luxury and a real sanctuary with personal touch.  WOW.  Feeling I am in real Bali!!!!

A Pacific Princess Paradise

– MIAM, September 2012

I was lucky enough to spend 3 nights in the amazing place.  First point is that it is a bit of track after Candidasa but make it ideal to visit the East of Bali inlcuding many amazing diving schools and diving area accessible in less than 20/30 minutes, some great temples, markets, Bali Asis cooking school and restaurant and point of interests too.  You can easily spend 7 busy days but can also do NOTHING like I did. I recommend for solo traveller in need of escape, family reuniting, honeymoon.

My heaven

– Patrick, August 2012

I have traveled all over the south Pacific looking for this exact experience and I finally found it at Villa Campuan. Growing up in a landlocked state, I would pass time in school by drawing pictures of thatch huts by the ocean. It is as if those pictures came to life when I stepped onto your property.

It’s easy to fall in love with Villa Campuhan

– Michael, January 2012

The sheer drama of the place is breathtaking but at the same time it’s welcoming and intimate. The balance between the stunning architecture, surrounding natural beauty and low key “Luxe” provides the whole property with an abundance of charm and character that is truly unique.

All the staff are attentive without being obtrusive and of course the food was amazing! Because of the isolation the food does become a focus so it has to be good, and it is! Dinner was plentiful with the focus on local cuisine and fresh produce all done with Penny’s flair and style. Breakfast was delightful taken out on the bench table by the sea. The lunch menu is spot on as well so there’s no need to ever leave the place once your there…so we didn’t!

The masseuses came to the property as did our wonderful Yoga teacher Kawidana. Deciding which hammock to have a snooze in was about the biggest decision that would need to be made. Perusing all the incredible artefacts and art, watching the sunset with the volcano as a backdrop, laying in the huge bath overlooking the sea with the breeze gently wafting through…heaven! We are looking forward to returning soon.